A tale of horror with a twist of the Twilight Zone. The old, abandoned Saint Vincent Hospital is said to be haunted by the ghost of David Henry Coleman, the notorious serial killer, known as The Mangler.

Coleman died on the fourth floor after being shot by police. For the three Jr. High boys, their curiosity gets the best of them as they explore the old hospital, despite ‘Old Man’ Jake’s warning. No one knew of Jake’s dark connection to the killer and the hospital. And now, on the anniversary of The Mangler’s death, a group of high school kids are planning a private party on the haunted fourth floor. Jake must keep everyone out and protect them from the true evil that lurks on Floor Four.

I give this book 6 out of 5 stars!

I started reading this before bed. Before the end of the second page I had to turn on the light. By the tenth page I had to put the book down, watch a bit of television and read the rest during the daylight. It reminded me of those Urban Legends that now and then seem to come back to life and reports of them really happening haunt the news. Thrilling and very well written. Freaky and horrifying in the sense that The Mangler really felt alive (in a ghostly sense). I am sincerely amazed with the author at leaving a cliff hanger as he did with a link to an update on the main character and insight on what the future may hold for his readers. I am so DYING to read more!

This book for me was the embodiment of a true urban horror story, and look forward to reading more books by A. Lopez Jr.!

